• FEAR Fright Experience

Field Of Screams Review 9/11/21

Saturday, September 11th, 2021

(This Review is for Opening Weekend)

Field of Screams

Located at: 191 College Ave, Mountville, PA 17554

https://www.fieldofscreams.com

4 Attractions (Haunted Hayride, Nocturnal Wasteland, Frightmare Asylum, Den of Darkness)

Overall Haunted Attraction Rating: 8/10

Acting Overall: 7/10

Costumes/Makeup Overall: 8/10

Entertainment On Lines: 9/10

Food Options Overall: 10/10

Set Design Overall: 10/10

Props & Animatronics Overall: 9.5/10


For your reference:

We arrived at Field of Screams on Saturday, September 11th, around 6pm. When we arrived, there was a minimal line to get in as tickets cannot be purchased at the ticket booth again this season. Everyone is to enter the park through the “e-ticket” line. This section is divvied up by arrival time slots. All tickets must be purchased online for a specific date and time. As always we highly recommend opting for the VIP pass so you can skip the lines. The free midway area is a great place to play some carnival games or grab a bite to eat, just watch out for the many characters roaming around. Some of our favorites from this year were the hillbilly dressed in undergarments of his most recent victims, the ice-cream truck clown, and the zombie pirate! These were only a few of the many characters tormenting the customers in the midway area. All actors were engaging and sticking to story lines. There was a new food truck added this year, “Dough Heads Waffles” this food truck offers a variety of savory and sweet items stuffed into a warm waffle pocket. We went with the Veggie Parm, and the Cinnawocket. Both were incredible. This food truck will be at FOS all season long. We HIGHLY recommend checking them out! For those who forget to bring cash, there are 3 accessible ATMS on the property located throughout the beginning of the park. Several new photo ops were added throughout the park, these included several larger-than-life static props in front of Field of Screams signs! The midway was very full but because of its large size it was not cramped at all. As always, they have a live band playing, this particular band was very good and a pleasure to listen to. They played a variety of music in the classic rock/pop rock genre. We noticed several EMS on the premise, as well as a potential police officer overseeing the safety of all patrons. Some other honorable mentions: There are plenty of trash cans located throughout the park, to help minimize littering. There is also a designated smoker’s area at the far back of the park, away from most foot traffic. The staff did an excellent job of navigating and directing customers through the park and the queue lines.







Covid-19 Precautions:

This season the COVID precautions were not as prevalent as last year. The porta pottys are only located at the front of the park adjacent to the ticket booth. There were a total of 10, all stocked with hand sanitizer. There were also wash stations set up outside the bathrooms for those wishing to use them. From what we could see, hand sanitizer was only accessible through the bathrooms this year. If this is something that is important to you on the fly, we highly recommend bringing your own travel size sanitizer to use at your convenience. If you find the need to use a bathroom while waiting on line for the attractions, you can find a porta potty located in the line for the hayride, and nocturnal wasteland. Social distancing was not being enforced in the park, granted this is our first haunt of the 2021 season after last years massive COVID protocols were implemented, so I'm thinking this will be the standard across the board. Masks were completely voluntary in the scream park, which is in alignment with CDC and PA State Guidelines. Folks who wanted to wear them did so, and those who did not want to; did not have to. As always, you are in control of your own space, if social distancing is important to you, please be mindful of your physical space and keep a distance from those around you. If ever you’re uncomfortable with someone’s positioning in relation to where you are, kindly communicate with them to keep a safe distance. On the hayride you are traveling with other groups. There wasn’t much room for social distancing here. Myself & Matt made sure to keep some space between ourselves and those around you, but that’s entirely up to you how you go about sitting on the hayride. For Nocturnal Wasteland, Frightmare Asylum and Den of Darkness, you entered the attraction in small groups of 6-8 individuals. Field of Screams has amazing queue line software that helps them manage how often they let groups in So pile ups don’t happen as frequently as they do in other haunts.




Haunted Hayride:

Actors: 6.5/10

Makeup/Costumes: 7/10

Use of Props & Animatronics: 9/10

Set Design: 9/10

Overall Attraction Rating: 7.5/10

Field of Screams has a beautifully decorated and entirely unique hayride experience. The sets and props are enough to keep you stimulated and engaged during your entire 25 minute journey. Unfortunately this year, we noticed a few out of the ordinary occurrences which is very unlikely for this specific haunt. I want to preface this by saying: Field of Screams always does an excellent job with their attractions. This is our 13th year visiting with them, so our opinions will vary from those who have never seen the show before. We are only comparing our experience last night to previous years visited. There were significantly less actors in the hayride than usual. As such, a lot of manual large props were not able to be used which did take away from several big scenes in the experience. It is also likely inpart to an unfortunate circumstance that the Haunt is dealing with. One of their veteran cast members unexpectedly passed this week. I know it has caused a lot of hurt, amongst the FOS staff. I am certain that the lack of actors in this section is largely in part to this unfortunate circumstance, as I mentioned this is not a normal occurrence at all. We want to formally offer our condolences to the FOS family. Our thoughts and prayers are all with you at this time. We urge you not to let this part of the review deter you from visiting FOS. This is truly not a regular occurrence. Without giving away too many spoilers, here’s what you can look forward to this year: Some new props have been added and scattered along the hayride, there is a new and improved soundtrack playing along as the hayride pulls you through different scenes, for those who haven’t experience it yet the newer cryo scene that was added 2 years ago is full of energy and stimuli, and the new chop shop scene that was added last year was our ABSOLUTE favorite section. You can expect Pyrotechnics GALOR, and utter chaos in the best possible way!





Nocturnal Wasteland:

Actors: 8/10

Makeup/Costumes: 8/10

Use of Props & Animatronics: 9/10

Set Design: 9/10

Overall Attraction Rating: 8.5/10


Nocturnal Wasteland is FOS’s outdoor walking trail. It is safe to say that this attraction is unlike many walking trails in its category. As you begin your journey you are instantly thrusted into chaos and elaborate immersive sets straight out of your worst nightmares. You make your journey through large tunnels and massive school buses, meandering through massive explosions of fire and constant frightening special effects. You can expect to see a malevolent cemetery where more than the dead come to life, a school bus full of violent children, an abandoned car lot and junkyard, and an epic swamp scene that will have you questioning reality. Can you make it out of the Nocturnal wasteland alive? We barely did!

Honorable Mentions: The rules and precautions are clearly explained on television screens before going through the haunt!



Frightmare Asylum:

Actors: 8/10

Makeup/Costumes: 8/10

Use of Props & Animatronics: 9/10

Set Design: 9/10

Overall Attraction Rating: 8.5/10


Frightmare asylum is an absolutely amazing full assault on the senses kind of experience. Stock full of evil medical torture devices, sinister doctors; nurses and escaped mental patients looking for a new friend.. For 2021 there were some incredible additions to the already flawless Attraction. The new and improved silent hill nurse room transitions into a maniacal checkered maze that sends you into a never-ending cycle of madness. Will you find your way out..or will you too become a part of the Frightmare Asylum?!

Honorable Mentions: Actors WILL touch you in this attraction. You can not touch them back.





Den of Darkness:

Actors: 9/10

Makeup/Costumes: 9/10

Use of Props & Animatronics: 10/10

Set Design: 10/10

Overall Attraction Rating: 9.5/10


As always Den of Darkness is our absolute favorite attraction, as if could get any better the upgrades to the haunt this year blew our minds beyond comprehension. The ENTIRE bottom half of the Den was gutted and redone with brand new scenes. The new sections that were added, are ETREMELY GRUESOME, DISGUSTING, HIGHLY SCENTED, LIFELIKE, BEAUTIFUL Masterpieces. Some highlights from our nostrils: FIRE, BURNIG FLESH, DEATH, ROT, DECAY, CAT PEE, BABY POWDER and MOLD. These scenes are directly out of your worst nightmares, over the top scenes and props galore. There is not a section of this haunt that lacks attention to detail. Like its name there is alot of areas of areas where your forced through complete darkness into terrifying scenarios. You will have to crawl your way through at a point. Be prepared! (For those with physical issues crawling there is an alternative way through this section if need be) This attraction ALONE, could cover the cost of admission truthfully. It was utter perfection.

Honorable Mentions: Actors WILL touch you in this attraction. You can not touch them back.





Extras:

-5 Minute Escape Games.

-Carnival Games with a spooky twist.

-Live entertainment every night.

-Extreme Blackout – Friday, November 12th, 2021

-Zombie Fun Run – Saturday, November 13th, 2020.

For those die hard Haunt lovers, please make sure to Follow along with Field of Screams social media for upcoming Off Season events!



IN HONOR OF OUR 2021 HAUNT TOUR, WE WILL BE FEATURING PRODUCTS EVERY WEEKEND IN HONOR OF THE HAUNTS WE WILL BE VISITING. WE WILL OFFER A FLASH SALE OF THESE PRODUCTS WITH A 10% OFF CODE THAT WILL BE GOOD FRI-SUN OF THE HAUNTS SCHEDULED VISIT. IN HONOR OF OUR FRIENDS AT FIELD OF SCREAMS WE WILL BE FEATURING OUR HAUNTED ABODE INCENSE, PERFUME OIL & THE ALL NEW ROOM/LINEN SPRAY. YOU WILL RECIEVE 10% OFF WITH THE COUPON CODE FIELDOFSCREAMS (VALID 9/11-9/13.


SHOP INFO BELOW:

www.fearfrightexperience.com/shop

Collection: FEAR's 2021 Haunt Tour




If you like hearing about our experiences through the Best Haunts in the US, Please make sure to give us a follow on

Facebook and Instagram:

www.facebook.com/fear.fright.experience

www.instagram.com/fear.fright.experience





39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All